Lovingmylife’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Another Hurdle March 8, 2009

Filed under: baby #2,Jonathan,Kylie,My life — lovingmylife @ 8:33 am

Kylie was diagnosed with alpha thalassemia when she was first born.  Its a blood disorder that affects the normal production of hemoglobin which causes low iron. She hasn’t had to take any medication  and its not severe at this point.    We don’t know if Jonny and I are both silent carriers.   If we are, there is a 25% chance that my pregnancy won’t go to full term.  The baby’s blood would be so mutated that there wouldn’t be any production of hemoglobin and would cause utero.

My last doctor appointment after the doctor listened to the heartbeat, he felt my uterus and said “Hmmm” he felt again and asked if  I was eating enough. I told him I was eating about 2ooo calories a day and asked him what was wrong. He said my uterus was smaller that usual for being 26 weeks along.  I remembered when I went in for my ultrasound and the technician said that the baby was small and pushed my due date 2 weeks back.  He told me that he is concerned that the baby isn’t growing fast enough and wants to start monitoring his/her growth a little more extensively.

Now I freaked out!! I’m doing all my research about the blood disorder and driving myself crazy in the process.  I’m calling the doctor on Monday and see if I can get blood work done on the baby and myself.

 

5 Responses to “Another Hurdle”

  1. Jason Says:

    I do know that for many cases, taking folic acid will help with the hemoglobin production. Not all, and I don’t know all that much about it. But it wouldn’t hurt! I think you can find it in a regular old multivitamin.

  2. Melissa Says:

    You’re in our prayers. Let me know what the doctor says.

    Melissa 🙂

  3. Shawna Says:

    I will keep you in my prayers. Update when you know more. And remember Heavenly father is in charge and through him all things are possible. Good luck

  4. kyrsten geddes Says:

    I’m so sorry that you have to deal with this trial. I hope everything works out well. we will be praying for you.

  5. Melissa Says:

    Any updates?? I hope everything is okay. We love you guys.

    Melissa 🙂


Leave a Reply

